Contact Menu
Vick Carney LLP
email us
817-406-5455800-483-9202
Toll Free

Underage DWI: A serious criminal charge for your minor child

When your child is in trouble, you will do anything in the world to protect his or her interests and help him or her in any way you can. If your child is facing charges related to underage driving while intoxicated, you would be wise to take quick action to help your kid preserve his or her future and mitigate potential penalties.

Texas takes a strong stance against drunk driving, and minors caught behind the wheel with any amount of alcohol in their system could face serious penalties. It is wise to secure legal help as soon as possible after an arrest, as an experienced attorney will best know how to appropriately handle this difficult situation.

The consequences for a minor DWI offender

In Texas, a minor DWI offender can actually face adult charges for this type of crime. These penalties are more severe and can have a long-reaching impact on the defendant's life. A minor age 17 to 21 convicted for underage DWI could face the following:

  • First offense: Fines up to $2,000, 72 hours to 180 days in jail, and license suspension for up to one year
  • Second offense: Fines up to $4,000, 30 days to one year in jail, and license suspension of 180 days to 18 months
  • Third offense: Fines up to $10,000, a prison sentence of two to 10 years, and a license suspension that will last anywhere from 180 days to two years

The consequences that a minor could face have the potential to affect his or her college opportunities, job applications, personal freedoms and several other areas of his or her life. This is a serious crime with serious penalties, and this situation merits a serious defense.

Other alcohol-related offenses

Texas minors could also find themselves in trouble with the law for a range of other alcohol-related offenses, even if they were not behind the wheel of a vehicle at the time. Some of these could include:

  • Violation of implied consent laws
  • Refusal to provide specimen when requested by law enforcement
  • Violation of zero tolerance laws
  • Public intoxication
  • Buying alcohol as a minor
  • Using a fake I.D.

Regardless of the type and nature of the charges currently faced by your child, you would be wise to move quickly to secure defense help. There is much at stake, but a conviction or guilty plea is never the only option. If your minor child is facing any type of alcohol-related criminal charge, you can take action to protect your child's interests, both today and in the future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email us for a response Back to top